On yer bike! Free public transport for kids idea derailed by cycling advocates :: Free rail passenger services for Takoradi, Tarkwa commuters :: Thrills @ Amakye Dede @ 45 Concert :: UTV Hosts Celebrities On New Year’s Day :: 2 past BoG Governors responsible for ‘rotten’ banking system – Joe Jackson :: Togolese Soldiers Intrusion Reported To Interpol :: GES announces reopening dates for Senior High Schools :: Socialists again call for action to ‘stop expats displacing Amsterdammers’ :: Kofi Annan''s Death; Ghana Flags To Fly At Half-Mast For One Week :: Let’s spend on the living not the dead – Palmer-Buckle to Ghanaians ::

General News
Ayariga dethrones Dr Mahama; Alhaji Ramadan, Mornah win 2/5/2012

Dr Edward Mahama’s fifth attempts to become Ghana’s president was dealt a big blow after losing the bid to lead the People’s National Convention (PNC) in the 2012 presidential election to a rather unknown Hassan Ayariga at the party’s national delegates’ congress held in the Brong Ahafo regional capital Sunyani.

Voting started on Saturday night with the results being declared on Sunday dawn.

A Commissioner at the Electoral Commission, Ebenezer Aggrey-Fynn, declared Mr Hassan Ayariga the winner of the presidential slot with 483 votes. Dr Mahama, who is the sole challenger, polled 426 votes.

The congress which was held at the Sunyani Polytechnic also saw Alhaji Ahmed Ramadan retaining the chairmanship position. He had 362 votes followed by Dr Edward Gyader who had 287 votes. David Nibi got 189 votes and Thomas Akum-Yong had 66 votes.

The party’s General Secretary Bernard Mornah beat Atik Mohammed in the hotly contested seat to retain his postion. Bernard Mornah had 437 votes as against 404 votes polled by Atik Mohammed. Henry Haruna Asante managed only 71 votes.

For the position of National Organiser, Emmanuel Wilson Jnr. won with 452 votes. Alhaji Omar Ahmed and Abu Sadiq had 239 and 210 votes respectively.

David Apasara was elected the National Treasurer with 493 votes as against Peter Teye Batsa’s 411 votes.

Abu Ramadan obtained 490 votes to win the Youth Organiser position. Colson Akanbasiam polled 277 votes and Abass Nuhu had 134 votes.

Janet Asana Nabla had 490 votes to beat Elizabeth Amedekanya who obtained 407 votes to win the Women’s Organiser position.

Hajia Ajara Musah was retained unopposed as the party''s First Vice Chairman.

Copyright© Radio Recogin 2022 Designed by [ModernGhana.com