On yer bike! Free public transport for kids idea derailed by cycling advocates :: Free rail passenger services for Takoradi, Tarkwa commuters :: Thrills @ Amakye Dede @ 45 Concert :: UTV Hosts Celebrities On New Year’s Day :: 2 past BoG Governors responsible for ‘rotten’ banking system – Joe Jackson :: Togolese Soldiers Intrusion Reported To Interpol :: GES announces reopening dates for Senior High Schools :: Socialists again call for action to ‘stop expats displacing Amsterdammers’ :: Kofi Annan''s Death; Ghana Flags To Fly At Half-Mast For One Week :: Let’s spend on the living not the dead – Palmer-Buckle to Ghanaians ::

General News
Samia wins CPP chairmanship 9/11/2011
Samia Yaba Nkrumah, the daughter of Ghana’s first president Dr Kwame Nkrumah, has been declared winner of Saturday’s national delegates’ congress of the Convention People’s Party (CPP) held at the Ghana International Trade Fair Centre in Accra.

She polled 1151 votes to beat three other contestants including the incumbent chairman, Ladi Nylander who could only manage 353 votes.

Former chairman of the party, Prof. Edmund Delle had 332 votes with Madam Bentsi-Enchill polling only 10 votes.

By this feat, Samia Nkrumah, the only CPP Member in Parliament, becomes the first woman to become chairman of the party, and the first woman chairman of a political party in the history Ghana.

For the General Secretary position, incumbent Mr Kobina Ivor Greenstreet polled 716 votes to beat his closest contender Mr Nii Akomfrah who had 672 votes, while Mr Ekow Duncan polled 471 votes.

In the Vice Chairmanship slot; Susan Adu Amankwah with 529 votes, Rodaline Ayana polling 385 votes, and with Oteng Anane’s 311, the three were respectively elected as the first, second and third vice chairpersons. Ibrahim M. Seidu who contested for the same position had 220 votes, William Nana Buckman managed 195 votes, and Kojo Armah 184 votes.

Two people contested for the National Treasurer; Mr Kosi Dede, the incumbent, had 853 votes, with Seth Gomnah winning the slot with 1005 votes.

Mr Abu Forgor gathered 1093 votes to win the National Organiser slot, Evelyn Alamisi Anabilla had 347 votes, and Appiah Amankwah polled 408 votes.

For the National Women’s Organiser, Mary Ankumah Boackye-Boateng won with 917 votes, Hajia Hamdatu Ibrahim-Haruna 635 votes, and Aisha Suley Futa 313 votes.

Murtala Mohammed won the National Youth Organiser with 802 votes, Francis Opai Tetteh had 186 votes and Issifu Kadiri Abdula Rauf 570 votes.

Copyright© Radio Recogin 2022 Designed by [ModernGhana.com