On yer bike! Free public transport for kids idea derailed by cycling advocates :: Free rail passenger services for Takoradi, Tarkwa commuters :: Thrills @ Amakye Dede @ 45 Concert :: UTV Hosts Celebrities On New Year’s Day :: 2 past BoG Governors responsible for ‘rotten’ banking system – Joe Jackson :: Togolese Soldiers Intrusion Reported To Interpol :: GES announces reopening dates for Senior High Schools :: Socialists again call for action to ‘stop expats displacing Amsterdammers’ :: Kofi Annan''s Death; Ghana Flags To Fly At Half-Mast For One Week :: Let’s spend on the living not the dead – Palmer-Buckle to Ghanaians ::

General News
Jake is NPP Chairman 2/28/2010

Kumasi, Feb 28, GNA - Mr. Jake Otanka Obetsebi-Lamptey, has been elected the new National Chairman of the New Patriotic Party (NPP). He polled 2,030 votes to beat off the challenge by his four other contestants, Stephen Ayesu Ntim, who had 1,804 votes, Sammy K.A.B Crabbe, 43, Dr Charles Wereko-Brobbey, 29 and Felix Kwasi Owusu Adjapong, 25 votes.
This was at the party''s one day national delegates'' conference held at the Baba Yara Sports Stadium in Kumasi.
Other national officers elected by the 4,500 delegates from the 230 constituencies were Mr. Fred Oware, first Vice Chairman, Sheikh T.B. Bamba, second Vice-Chairman, Madam Sophia Horner-Sam, third Vice-Chairman, and Esther Dzifa Ofori, Treasurer.
The rest included Mr. Kwadwo Owusu Afriyie, General Secretary, Alhaji Moctar Bamba, Organizer, Anthony A. Karbo, Youth Organizer, and Ms. Otiko Afisah Djaba, Women Organizer, and Abubakar Sulemana, Nasara Coordinator. They would manage the affairs of the party for the next four years. As the Ashanti Regional Electoral Officer, Mr Kofi Asomani, announced the results at 0130 hours, the anxious supporters of the elected candidates went into frenzy and danced to Phillipa Barfi''s hit song "Go-Go High", which was adopted by the NPP as its campaign song in the 2008 general elections.. The voting and collation lasted for about eight hours and were conducted in a peaceful and orderly manner, presenting the 300 police and Fire Service personnel deployed to provide security with no troubles. Mr. Obetsebi-Lamptey said they were grateful to the delegates for the opportunity to serve both the party and the nation.
He vowed to lead the NPP to recapture political power in the 2012 general poll. He called for an end to complaints and bickering in the party and said they should concentrate and move to the future.
"The country is crying, the people are suffering, they are in depression, looking to the NPP to come to their rescue", he said, drawing= applause from the jubilant supporters.
Mr. Obetsebi-Lamptey demanded from the party members'' not only hard work but cooperation and support for the leadership to win back political= power. The new executive was sworn in by Mr Peter Mac-Manu, out-going National Chairman.
Earlier, former President John Agyekum Kufuor underlined the need for the party to resist the emergence of personality cult in the NPP, saying this was not only alien to its tradition but a threat to its unity. "Reflect, Re-build and Recapture", was the theme for the conference. There were fraternal messages from all the political parties except the ruling National democratic Congress (NDC).
Detailed results of NPP''s national executive committe elections at its 15th national delegates conference in Kumasi.
National Chairman:
Mr Jake Otanka Obetsebi-Lamptey ……2,030 (Winner)
Mr Stephen Ayensu Ntim……1,804
Sammy Crabbe……43
Dr Charles Wereko-Brobby……29
Mr Felix Owusu Adjepong……25

Fred Oware……2964 First Vice-Chairperson (elected)
Sheikh T.B. Damba……1,798 Second Vice-Chairperson (elected)
Sophia Horner-Sam……1,743 Third Vice-Chairperson (elected)
Edward Collins Boateng……677
Amadu Kaleem……981
Rita Asobayire……1,191
Michael Omari Wadie……952
Baaba Otoo……464
General Secretary:

Kwadwo Owusu Afriyie……2,386 (Winner)
Nana Ohene Ntow……918
Nkrabeah Effah Dartey……431
Obeng Busia……139
Yaw Buabeng Asamoah…..77
National Treasurer:

Esther Dzifa Ofori…unopposed
National Organiser:

Alhaji Moctar Musa Bamba……3,428 (Winner)
John Boadu……448
Isaac Eduosar Edumadze……75

Women''s Organiser:

Ms Otiko Afisah Djaba……280 (Winner)
Ms Christine Churcher……260

National Youth Organizer:

Mr Anthony Abayefa Karbo……273 (Winner)
Stephen Amoah………192
Pius Enam Hadzide…………145
Michael Kwabena Ampong……15

Nasara Co-ordinator:

Abubakar Suleimana 130 (Winner)
Mohammed Aminu Ibrahim 50
Alhaji Tanko Maharaja 47

Copyright© Radio Recogin 2022 Designed by [ModernGhana.com