On yer bike! Free public transport for kids idea derailed by cycling advocates :: Free rail passenger services for Takoradi, Tarkwa commuters :: Thrills @ Amakye Dede @ 45 Concert :: UTV Hosts Celebrities On New Year’s Day :: 2 past BoG Governors responsible for ‘rotten’ banking system – Joe Jackson :: Togolese Soldiers Intrusion Reported To Interpol :: GES announces reopening dates for Senior High Schools :: Socialists again call for action to ‘stop expats displacing Amsterdammers’ :: Kofi Annan''s Death; Ghana Flags To Fly At Half-Mast For One Week :: Let’s spend on the living not the dead – Palmer-Buckle to Ghanaians ::

Kojo Antwi Wins Artiste of the decade 4/14/2009

Mr. Music Man, Kojo Antwi, a seasoned Ghanaian musician, last Saturday won the Artiste of the Decade Award at the 10th MTN Ghana Music Awards held at the Accra International Conference Centre. Okyeame Kwame who is also one of Ghana’s reigning hiplife artistes succeeded in grabbing four awards: Artiste of the Year, Hiplife Artiste of the Year, Hiphop Song of the Year and Best Music Video Award. Each of the awards attracted a price of GH¢1000 from MTN, major sponsors of the awards scheme.

With thrilling performances from international superstars like Sway Naeto C, Ikechukwu and D’ Banj, Praye annexed three different awards - Afro Pop Song of the Year, Most Popular Song of the Year and Album of the Year. Christiana Love, a gospel musician, also picked three awards: Gospel Artiste of the Year, Best Collaboration of the Year and Gospel Song of the Year. Kwabena Kwabena also won the Contemporary Highlife Artiste of the Year award with Asem and C-Zar grabbing Discovery of the Year award and Hiplife Song of the Year award respectively.Nigerian hiphop artiste, D’ Banj, who performed to the satisfaction of all, won the African Artiste of the Year award.

The late highlife music star, Michael Dwamena, won Contemporary Highlife of Song of the Year which was received by his wife. The Reggae Song of the Year award went to Chizzy Wailer whilst The Best Male Vocal Performance award went to OJ, a gospel musician. Bernice Offei, a veteran gospel musician with 30 years’ experience, grabbed Best Female Vocal Performance of the Year and Song Writer of the Year awards.

Record Label of the Year went to Lynx Entertainment while Richie was rewarded with the Best Producer of the Year award. The funky gospel musician, Josh Laryea took home Record of the Year award. Ackah Blay also grabbed the Instrumentalist of the Year award. MUSIGA Merit and Traditional Artiste of the Year awards went to Paapa Yankson and Dela Botri of Hewale Sounds respectively. Music Development award which had a cash prize of $5000 was given to Obour. The yellow carpet ceremony, which kick-started around 10pm with interviews at the arrival section, was greeted with a lot of excitement and surprises.

The MTN Ambassador, Samini, unusual of him, appeared as one of the Emcees of the night alongside Obour with support from DJ Black of Joy FM. Lightening up the fans were interesting performances from Irene and Jane, Edem, Tinny, Tic Tac, Becca and Praye.

Copyright© Radio Recogin 2022 Designed by [ModernGhana.com