On yer bike! Free public transport for kids idea derailed by cycling advocates :: Free rail passenger services for Takoradi, Tarkwa commuters :: Thrills @ Amakye Dede @ 45 Concert :: UTV Hosts Celebrities On New Year’s Day :: 2 past BoG Governors responsible for ‘rotten’ banking system – Joe Jackson :: Togolese Soldiers Intrusion Reported To Interpol :: GES announces reopening dates for Senior High Schools :: Socialists again call for action to ‘stop expats displacing Amsterdammers’ :: Kofi Annan''s Death; Ghana Flags To Fly At Half-Mast For One Week :: Let’s spend on the living not the dead – Palmer-Buckle to Ghanaians ::

Sports News
Essien, Bayor make FIFA shortlist 10/11/2007
Accra, Oct 10, GNA - Ghana''s talented midfielder, Michael Essien has been short-listed for the 2007 Federation of International Football Association (FIFA) ''World Player of the Year'' award.
The Chelsea star is among three other African footballers who made a 30-strong shortlist for the award slated for Zurich on December 17. Cameroon strikers Samuel Eto''o and Ivorian Didier Drogba complete the Africans to have made the initial shortlist.

The trio were also on the original list for the 2006 award although none of them made the final shortlist of three.

Information pieced together by GNA Sports indicate that Black Queens'' skipper, Adjoa Bayor also made the list in the women''s category. The creative genius joins Nigerian duo Christie George and Perpetua Nkwocha as the three Africans on the list.

The list is drawn up by members of FIFA''s Technical Committees and voted on by the coaches and captains of every national team. The winner will be announced at FIFA''s World Player Gala in Zurich on December 17.

The following 26 women (in alphabetical order) are in contention for the title of FIFA Women''s World Player of the Year 2007:
Nadine Angerer (Germany), Adjoa Bayor (Ghana), Cristiane (Brazil), Daniela (Brazil), Lisa de Vanna (Australia), Formiga (Brazil),Christie George (Nigeria), Ragnhild Gulbrandsen (Norway), Duan Han (China), Ariane Hingst (Germany), Jie Li (China), Kristine Lilly (USA), Renate Lingor (Germany), Marta (Brazil), Perpetua Nkwocha (Nigeria), Bente Nordby (Norway), Cathrine Paaske Sörensen (Denmark), Birgit Prinz (Germany), Un Suk Ri (Korea DPR), Christine Sinclair (Canada), Kelly Smith (England), Rebecca Smith (New Zealand), Ane Stangeland Horpestad (Norway), Kerstin Stegemann (Germany), Ingvild Stensland (Norway) and Abby Wambach (USA).


Copyright© Radio Recogin 2022 Designed by [ModernGhana.com