On yer bike! Free public transport for kids idea derailed by cycling advocates :: Free rail passenger services for Takoradi, Tarkwa commuters :: Thrills @ Amakye Dede @ 45 Concert :: UTV Hosts Celebrities On New Year’s Day :: 2 past BoG Governors responsible for ‘rotten’ banking system – Joe Jackson :: Togolese Soldiers Intrusion Reported To Interpol :: GES announces reopening dates for Senior High Schools :: Socialists again call for action to ‘stop expats displacing Amsterdammers’ :: Kofi Annan''s Death; Ghana Flags To Fly At Half-Mast For One Week :: Let’s spend on the living not the dead – Palmer-Buckle to Ghanaians ::

CPP Prez. Aspirants To Cough GH¢10,000 9/6/2007
Snippets of information reaching The Point from the corridors of the Convention Peoples Party (CPP) indicate that the party hierarchy many settle on GH¢10,000 or ¢100 million as its filing fee. The information added that the party hierarchy proposed the said amount after series of consultations with the party’s financial committee.

It would be recalled that in 2004, the CPP presidential aspirants paid ¢50 million as filing fee. It further revealed hat with about four highly respected individuals vying for the slot, it would be a very good platform for the party to raise funds by pegging the nomination fee at the proposed GH ¢10,000.

Additional information gathered indicated that other party members are also pushing for the nomination fee to be pegged at GH ¢15000 in view of the fact that all those who have expressed interest to contest for the slot are well-to-do and can afford the amount.

However, some members of the party who spoke to newsmen on condition of anonymity welcomed the proposed amount by the party officials.

According to them, in the wake of the party’s quest to win power in the 2008 general elections, it would be a very good initiative for all the aspirants to pay the said amount and that would strengthen the financial base of the party.

Some of the CPP party faithful who have expressed interest to contest for the position are Prof. Agyeman Badu Akosa, former Director General of the Ghana Health Service, Dr Paa Kwesi Ndoum, former Minister for Public Sector Reform, Mr Bright Akwetey, a legal practitioner, Mr George Opposika aggudey, the immediate past flagbearer and Dr Kwaku Osafo, an engineer and economist.
Source: The Point

Copyright© Radio Recogin 2023 Designed by [ModernGhana.com