On yer bike! Free public transport for kids idea derailed by cycling advocates :: Free rail passenger services for Takoradi, Tarkwa commuters :: Thrills @ Amakye Dede @ 45 Concert :: UTV Hosts Celebrities On New Year’s Day :: 2 past BoG Governors responsible for ‘rotten’ banking system – Joe Jackson :: Togolese Soldiers Intrusion Reported To Interpol :: GES announces reopening dates for Senior High Schools :: Socialists again call for action to ‘stop expats displacing Amsterdammers’ :: Kofi Annan''s Death; Ghana Flags To Fly At Half-Mast For One Week :: Let’s spend on the living not the dead – Palmer-Buckle to Ghanaians ::

General News
Anas is Journalist of the year 8/20/2007
The Ghana Journalists Association on Saturday night voted Mr. Anas Aremeyaw Anas of the Crusading Guide newspaper, Journalist of the Year for 2006.

The 28-year-old also picked an award for Best Investigative Journalist on the night.

Joy FM’s Matilda Asante, News Editor, won the Best in News Reporting (Radio category) in addition to the station picking up another award for Best in Human Rights Reporting.

The Best Journalist prize, donated by Unilever Ghana, comprises a six-week fully paid advanced journalism course with the Thompson Foundation in Cardiff, Wales, in addition to a personal computer and printer, all valued at GH¢12,500 (125 million cedis).

Anas paid a glowing tribute to his editor and mentor, Kwaku Baaku Jnr., for his direction and support.

President Kufuor wins award

President Kufuor receives his award from GJA President, Ransford Tetteh.

President John Agyekum Kufuor, for his immense support for the promotion of press freedom under his administration and particularly to the Ghana Journalists Association, was awarded a magnificent plaque and a glorifying citation alongside two others; Dr. Kwame Nkrumah, Ghana’s first president and Dr. J.B. Danquah, the renowned educationist and politician, also for their support for the media.

Other award winners (competitive category), included Mr John Vigah of the Ghanaian Times, who won the Best Sports Reporter; Mr William Asiedu of Graphic Showbiz as Best Arts and Entertainment Reporter; Mr Edmund Kofi Yeboah of the Daily Graphic, Best in Finance and Economics Reporting, and Mr Emmanuel Kojo Kwarteng, formerly of the Daily Graphic, for Best in Reporting on the Environment.

The rest were Mr Kofi Akordor of the Daily Graphic, Best Columnist; Nana Aba Anamoah of TV3, Best News reporting (TV); Mrs Clare Banoeng Yakubu, Ghana Television, Best Feature story; and Ms Peggy Ama Donkor, Best Reporter on Health.

All the awards carry a plague and a laptop computer as prizes.

Copyright© Radio Recogin 2022 Designed by [ModernGhana.com