On yer bike! Free public transport for kids idea derailed by cycling advocates :: Free rail passenger services for Takoradi, Tarkwa commuters :: Thrills @ Amakye Dede @ 45 Concert :: UTV Hosts Celebrities On New Year’s Day :: 2 past BoG Governors responsible for ‘rotten’ banking system – Joe Jackson :: Togolese Soldiers Intrusion Reported To Interpol :: GES announces reopening dates for Senior High Schools :: Socialists again call for action to ‘stop expats displacing Amsterdammers’ :: Kofi Annan''s Death; Ghana Flags To Fly At Half-Mast For One Week :: Let’s spend on the living not the dead – Palmer-Buckle to Ghanaians ::

General News
Cabinet Ministers agree to ''step aside'' after AU Summit 6/23/2007
Accra, June 23, GNA - Cabinet Ministers who intend to contest the flag bearer of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) have agreed to ''step aside'' from Government after the African Union (AU) Summit in Accra in July. A statement issued in Accra on Friday and signed by Mr D.K. Osei, Secretary to the President said "after frank and open discussions, an understanding was reached that the Ministers would step aside from Government soon after the AU Summit." It said "this is to enable them concentrate on their individual efforts to win the Party''s nomination and also enable Government continue with its work without any distraction throughout the hectic period ahead."

The statement said President John Agyekum Kufuor on Wednesday, June 20 met with National Executives of NPP and Ministers of his Cabinet who intended to contest the flag bearer position of the Party when nominations open in September in accordance with the Party''s Constitution. It said the meeting chaired by President Kufuor, was aimed at ensuring effective continuity of Government''s work and programme whilst ensuring sufficient space for the Ministers to pursue their laudable ambitions.

The statement said President Kufuor therefore, accepted their offer to resign and expressed his gratitude for their immense and invaluable contribution to the development of the country during their tenure as Ministers. It said the Ministers in turn committed themselves to the continued success of the party and the Government and pledged to work hard to ensure NPP retained power in the 2008 elections.

The Ministers in contention are Dr Kwame Addo Kufuor, Minister of Defence, Mr Jake Otanka Obetsebi-Lamptey, Minister of Tourism and Diaspora Relations, Professor Mike Ocquaye, Minister of Communications and Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, Minister of Foreign Affairs, NEPAD and Regional Cooperation. The rest are Mr Alan Kyeremanteng, Minister of Trade, Industry, Private Sector Development and PSI, Papa Owusu Ankomah, Minister of Education, Science and Sports, Mr Hackman Owusu Agyeman, Minister of Water Resources, Works and Housing and Mr Felix Owusu-Adjepong, Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Majority Leader.


Copyright© Radio Recogin 2022 Designed by [ModernGhana.com