On yer bike! Free public transport for kids idea derailed by cycling advocates :: Free rail passenger services for Takoradi, Tarkwa commuters :: Thrills @ Amakye Dede @ 45 Concert :: UTV Hosts Celebrities On New Year’s Day :: 2 past BoG Governors responsible for ‘rotten’ banking system – Joe Jackson :: Togolese Soldiers Intrusion Reported To Interpol :: GES announces reopening dates for Senior High Schools :: Socialists again call for action to ‘stop expats displacing Amsterdammers’ :: Kofi Annan''s Death; Ghana Flags To Fly At Half-Mast For One Week :: Let’s spend on the living not the dead – Palmer-Buckle to Ghanaians ::

Actors’ Day Of Honour 2/22/2007

Email Print

It was a memorable night of celebration for patrons and members of the Ghana Actors Guild (GAG) at the National Theatre last Saturday as the association held its first ever awards night.

Loud cheers from the sparse audience, made up mostly of GAG members, filled the auditorium during the presentation of awards to deserving members and in appreciation of performances from guest artistes.

Besides the fine performances from Slim Buster, Tinny, comedian Fine Boy of “Toli Masters” fame and the Showtime Dancers, the excitement from the crowd could also be attributed to the fact that the Guild was holding its maiden awards event since its formation 18 years ago.

Awards were presented to Best Actors and Actresses as well as Best Supporting Actors and Actresses in TV local dramas, soap operas and feature films.

For TV local drama category, the Best Actors and Actresses Awards went to Francis Kofi Dogbe (A.B. Tie) and Josephine Apreh ( for Showcase in Ga), Joseph Sedegbe and Florence (for Showcase in Ewe) as well as C. K. Boateng and Monica Sarpong ( for Akan Drama) respectively.

In the category of TV soaps, Jojo Mills Robertson and Vivienne Achor won Best Actor and Actress respectively while the Best Supporting Actor and Actress awards went to Kojo Dadson and Dzifa Ametepey.

Van Vicker and Linda Quarshigah won Best Actor and Actress awards for feature films while the Best Supporting Actor and Actress awards were given to Daniel Adeleye and Naana Hayford.

Rosabell Adjei was adjudged Discovery of the Year while Love Birds from Venus Productions won the Best Film of the Year award.

Honorary Awards went to Ebenezer Lartey (Mr. Mensah), Mary Yirenkyi, Emmary Brown, Grace Nortey, Solomon Sampah, William Ganyo and Y. B. Bampoe (Opia) for their immense commitment and contribution to the development of film and theatre over the years.

Emmary Brown told Graphic Showbiz that there was a bright future for the GAG Awards because veterans like himself and others have made sacrifices and invested time to consolidate it.

“Looking at the number of organisations which sponsored this event and the government’s promise to support us, the Ghana Actors Guild Awards is here to stay,” he said.

Kofi Middleton Mends was presented with a special award while the late Rev. Kofi Yirenkyi was given a posthumous award which was received by his wife and two of his children.

The event was well organised despite a few problems with sound quality and delays in projecting names of nominees on the two big screens on both sides of the stage.

MCs Gideon Aryeequaye and Nana Aba Anamoah handled the event quite smoothly on the simple but nicely designed stage.

After a brief address on the history and current state of GAG by its president, Samuel Nii-Odoi Mensah, another speech on the government’s plan to support the Guild and drama in general was delivered by the Minister of Chieftaincy and Culture, Mr S. K. Boafo.

The Ghana Actors Guild Awards 2006 was instituted by the Guild to honour deserving members in the fields of film and theatre. It would be held annually. Only registered members of GAG qualify for awards.

Graphic Showbiz

Copyright© Radio Recogin 2022 Designed by [ModernGhana.com