On yer bike! Free public transport for kids idea derailed by cycling advocates :: Free rail passenger services for Takoradi, Tarkwa commuters :: Thrills @ Amakye Dede @ 45 Concert :: UTV Hosts Celebrities On New Year’s Day :: 2 past BoG Governors responsible for ‘rotten’ banking system – Joe Jackson :: Togolese Soldiers Intrusion Reported To Interpol :: GES announces reopening dates for Senior High Schools :: Socialists again call for action to ‘stop expats displacing Amsterdammers’ :: Kofi Annan''s Death; Ghana Flags To Fly At Half-Mast For One Week :: Let’s spend on the living not the dead – Palmer-Buckle to Ghanaians ::

General News
Boafo is a Minister not "Minister in charge of" 2/6/2007
Accra, Feb. 5, GNA - The Minister of Chieftaincy and Culture, Mr S.K. Boafo is the substantive Minister and not Minister in charge of Chieftaincy Affairs at the Presidency.

The Ministry of Chieftaincy and Culture was established by President John Agyekum Kufuor in May 2006, just like any other Government Ministry, for specific duties and, in this case, chieftaincy and culture, a statement signed by Ms Lillian Bruce-Lyne, Chief Director of the Ministry, said.

It said the Ministry was responsible and answerable to the President on all policy matters which deal with the development of the chieftaincy and culture institutions.

"Additionally, the Minister is required in accordance with the 1992 Constitution of Ghana to brief Parliament on the operations of the Sector and provide answers to Parliamentary questions as and when required as is done by all Ministers assigned to specific ministries. The statement said the Ministry had its own budget duly approved by Parliament, a substantive Chief Director, other administrative and technical staff.

The statement said the President established the Ministry to be the highest organisation for the chieftaincy and culture sectors and was, therefore, responsible for the coordination of all sectors such as the National House of Chiefs, all 10 Regional Houses of Chiefs and 193 Traditional Councils; National Commission on Culture; all Regional and District Centres of Culture; National Theatre; W.E.B. Du Bois Centre for Pan African Culture and National Symphony Orchestra.

The rest are Kwame Nkrumah Memorial Park; National Dance Company; Bureau of Ghana Languages; Ghana Museums and Monuments Board and National Theatre Company.Source:

Copyright© Radio Recogin 2022 Designed by [ModernGhana.com