On yer bike! Free public transport for kids idea derailed by cycling advocates :: Free rail passenger services for Takoradi, Tarkwa commuters :: Thrills @ Amakye Dede @ 45 Concert :: UTV Hosts Celebrities On New Year’s Day :: 2 past BoG Governors responsible for ‘rotten’ banking system – Joe Jackson :: Togolese Soldiers Intrusion Reported To Interpol :: GES announces reopening dates for Senior High Schools :: Socialists again call for action to ‘stop expats displacing Amsterdammers’ :: Kofi Annan''s Death; Ghana Flags To Fly At Half-Mast For One Week :: Let’s spend on the living not the dead – Palmer-Buckle to Ghanaians ::

NPP wins Fomena by-elections 1/25/2007
Fomena, (Ash), Jan. 23, GNA- Nana Abu Bonsra of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), won the Fomena constituency by-election held on Tuesday with 9,525 votes, representing 81.84 per cent of the total valid votes cast.
Madam Grace Ampofo, who contested on the ticket of the National Democratic Congress (NDC), polled 2,003 votes representing 17.21 per cent, while Madam Augustina Kyei of the Democratic People''s Party (DPP) polled 110 votes representing 0.9 per cent.

Mr Lawrence Kofi Darteh Returning Officer of the Electoral Commission (EC), who declared the results, said out of a total of 11,785 votes cast 11,638 were valid while 147 were rejected. He said 69.03 per cent of the registered voters turned out to vote in the 45 polling stations.

The GNA observed that the elections were generally peaceful. However, the event was nearly marred when Baba Jamal, Deputy National Organiser of the NDC, interrupt the announcement of the Kyekyewere and Dadwen polling stations results.

He indicated the NDC had already petitioned the EC concerning the inclusion of the two polling stations to the constituency and that the party would not recognise the results from the two stations. In the Kyekyewere and Dadwen polling stations, NPP had 204 and votes 242 votes respectively whiles the NDC had 35 votes and 55 votes and DPP had two in the two polling stations.


Copyright© Radio Recogin 2022 Designed by [ModernGhana.com